After ISTQB Foundation level, what is next?

What all are the options open for you when you complete the ISTQB Foundation Level Certification?


ISTQB Portfolio


Foundation Extension – Agile Tester

Agile testing is a relatively new approach to software testing that follows the principles of agile software development as outlined in the Agile Manifesto.

A tester on an Agile project will work differently than one working on a traditional project. Testers must understand the values and principles that underpin Agile projects, and how testers are an integral part of a whole-team approach together with developers and business representatives.

There is a lot of confusion concerning agile testing – which means there’s an educational opportunity as well. The Agile Extension will give the tester the knowledge to be part of agile testing teams and achieve high performance.

Foundation Extension – Model Based Tester

Model-based testing is an innovative test approach to improve effectively and efficiency of the test process. A model-based tester on a project uses models to drive test analysis and design, and keeps advantage of the models for other testing activities such as test implementation and reporting.

ISTQB® Model-Based Tester certification complements the core foundation level as a specialist module. It provides a practical and easy entry to the MBT approach.

Core Advance Level

The Advanced Level qualification is aimed at people who have achieved an advanced point in their careers in software testing. This includes people in roles such as testers, test analysts, test engineers, test consultants, test managers, user acceptance testers and software developers.

This Advanced Level qualification is also appropriate for anyone who wants a deeper understanding of software testing, such as project managers, quality managers, software development managers, business analysts, IT directors and management consultants.

To receive Advanced Level certification, candidates must hold the Foundation Certificate and satisfy the Exam Board which examines them that they have sufficient practical experience to be considered Advanced Level qualified.

Refer to the relevant Exam Board to understand their specific practical experience criteria.

The Advanced Level has three Syllabi within the Core part:

Test Manager – A person who is involved in test lead and test management activities or aspired to take these roles should go for ISTQB Advance Level Test Manager Certification

Test Analyst – A person who is involved in the Test Analysis, Test Design and Test Execution activities, which are more focused on function testing which will be generally a black box testing and which requires less technical skills should go for ISTQB Advance Level Test Analyst Certification.

Technical Test Analyst – A person who is in Test Analysis and Test Design which requires more technical skills set, and who are generally involved in Structure Based Testing, which is a white Box testing and also involved in testing of the quality attributes of software like Performance, Security, Portability etc should go for ISTQB Advanced Level Technical Test Analyst Certification.
A specific exam and certification is available for each of the three modules.

When a Certified tester successfully achieves certification on all three modules, he receives a “Full Advanced” certificate.

Moreover, ISTQB is developing Advanced Level syllabi and exams for the Agile stream and for the Specialist stream.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s